<b>RESOLVED:</b> That the Court of Common
Council holden in the Guildhall of the City of
London on Thursday 15th April 2021, doth
hereby appoint the following Committee until
the first meeting of the Court in April, 2022.

# BOARD OF GOVERNORS OF THE GUILDHALL SCHOOL OF MUSIC & DRAMA

### 1. Constitution

A Non-Ward Committee consisting of,

- 11 Members elected by the Court of Common Council for a term of three years (renewable twice) at least one of whom shall have fewer than five years' service on the Court at the time of their appointment
- the Principal of the Guildhall School of Music & Drama
- one member of the Guildhall School academic staff to be elected by the Academic staff for a term of three years (renewable twice)
- one member of the Guildhall School administrative staff to be elected by such staff for a term of three years (renewable twice)
- one Guildhall student representative who shall normally be the President of the Students' Union
- up to six co-opted non-City of London Corporation Governors with appropriate expertise for a term of three years (renewable twice)

None of the appointed Governors shall serve on the Board for more than a maximum of nine years.

The Chairman and Deputy Chairman of the Board shall be elected from the City Corporation Members.

The Chairman of the Barbican Centre Board, the Chairman of the Culture, Heritage & Libraries Committee and one representative of the Centre for Young Musicians shall be permitted to attend the Board in a non-voting, advisory capacity.

#### Quorum

The quorum consists of any seven Common Council Governors plus three co-opted Governors.

# 3. Membership 2021/22

- 3 (3) George Christopher Abrahams
- 8 (3) David John Bradshaw, Deputy
- 9 (3) Marianne Bernadette Fredericks
- 9 (3) Jeremy Paul Mayhew
- 2 (2) Munsur Ali
- 5 (2) Graham David Packham
- 8 (2) William Anthony Bowater Russell, Alderman, the Rt Hon The Lord Mayor
- 4 (1) Randall Keith Anderson
- 1 (1) Simon D'Olier Duckworth, O.B.E., D.L.
- 7 (1) Vivienne Littlechild, M.B.E., J.P.
- 2 (1) Andrew Paul Mayer

together with those referred to in paragraph 1 above, and:-

the Principal of the Guildhall School for the time being - Lynne Williams

one Academic Member of the Guildhall School Staff, - elected by the Academic Staff

Andy Taylor

one Non-Academic Member of the Guildhall School Staff, elected by the administrative staff

Steven Gietzen

one Guildhall School Student representative (President of the Student Union for the time being)

Harry Plant

up to 6 Non-City of London Corporation Members with appropriate expertise

Natasha Bucknor Professor Geoffrey Crossick Professor Maria Delgado Neil Greenwood Dr Paula Haynes Vacancy

## 4. Terms of Reference

These terms of reference should be read in conjunction with the Guildhall School's *Instrument & Articles of Government* which lists the primary responsibilities of the Board of Governors. In summary, these are to be responsible for:-

- (a) the approval of a strategic plan and the determination of the educational character and the mission/aims of the Guildhall School of Music & Drama and oversight of its activities, assuring itself that appropriate steps are being taken to deliver the strategic plan;
- (b) Institutional sustainability and the approval of an annual Business Plan, assuring itself that there are effective systems of control and risk management;
- (c) the approval of annual estimates of income and expenditure;
- (d) the approval of the annual audited financial statements of the Guildhall School of Music & Drama;
- (e) ensuring that the requirements of the Office for Students, UK Research & Innovation and other relevant statutory bodies are followed and compliance is monitored;
- (f) responsibility for the promotion of equality and diversity throughout the School;
- (g) the appointment of the Principal of the Guildhall School of Music & Drama.